English Proficiency Assessments

The International Test of English Proficiency (iTEP)’s primary function is to assess the English language proficiency of an individual. The iTEP Academic and iTEP Business exams are specially tailored to test the skills needed for higher education and the workplace. iTEP SLATE (Secondary Level Assessment Test of English) is designed for young learners of English as a second language. All three exams share the same intuitive structure, a standardized scoring rubric, and convenient administration procedures.


Companies and Academic Institutions use iTEP for:

  • Training/Course Placement
  • Employees deployment
  • Post Course Evaluation
  • Technical and Language Training
  • Recruitment and Promotion
  • General Proficiency Assessment


Here are a few reasons to choose an iTEP exam for your English language evaluation needs:

On-demand Internet delivery provides maximum scheduling flexibility

The exams evaluate reading, listening and grammar. The iTEP Plus series also evaluates speaking and writing

The writing and speaking sections call for writing and speaking production from the test-taker

Native English-speaking ESL trained professionals evaluate writing and speaking components

The exams are administered in only 60 minutes (The iTEP Plus series lasts 90 minutes)

iTEP test results (Core Skills) are available immediately after the test. iTEP Plus results are available in five business days

Results are presented on a clear, informative Official Score Report



All iTEP exams are delivered via the Internet. The core (Grammar, Listening, and Reading) exams are also available in paper and pencil.

The test has five separate components: 3 CORE SKILLS and, WRITING & SPEAKING SKILLS, presented in the order listed below. In each section, test takers will encounter content and questions targeted at varying levels of proficiency.

GRAMMAR (Structure) – 10 minutes

This section has two parts to test the candidate’s familiarity with a key feature of English structure ranging from simple to more complex as well as range of vocabulary from beginning to advance.

Part 1 – consists of 13 questions where a candidate is asked to choose the word or phrase that correctly completes the sentence.

Part2– consists of 12 questions where a candidate is asked to choose the incorrect word or phrase in a sentence.

LISTENING – 18 minutes

This section has three parts:

Part 1 – consists of four high-beginning to low-intermediate-level short conversational exchanges of 2-3 sentences, each followed by 1 multiple-choice question.

Part 2 – One 2 – 3 minute intermediate-level conversational exchange reflecting a followed by 4 multiple-choice questions.

Part 3 – One 4-minute college-level lecture followed by 6 multiple-choice questions.

READING – 20 minutes

This Section has two parts:

Part 1 – One intermediate-level passage about 250 words in length followed by 4 written multiple-choice questions; and
Part 2 – One college-level monograph approximately 450 words long followed by 6 written multiple-choice questions.




The following test areas are recommended for Lower Intermediate to Advanced Level test takers in addition to the Core Skills.

Writing – 25 minutes

This section has two parts:

Part 1 – In response to instructions phrased at the low- intermediate level, candidate is asked to write a short note on a supplied topic (5 minutes: 50-75 words); and

Part 2 – Candidate is presented with a brief, college-level written topic and is asked to express and support his/her opinion on the topic (20 minutes: 175-225 words).

Speaking – 5 minutes

This section has two parts:

Part 1 – Candidate hears and reads a question about some facet of school life, phrased at the low-intermediate level; student has 30 seconds to prepare his/her spoken response, and 45 seconds to speak; and

Part 2 – Candidate hears a brief college-level statement presenting two sides of an issue; test taker is then asked to give his/her thoughts on the topic (45 seconds to prepare, 60 seconds to speak).


The levels identified by the iTEP exams may be expressed briefly as follows:

  • Level 0: Beginning
  • Level 1: Elementary
  • Level 2: Low Intermediate
  • Level 3: Intermediate
  • Level 4: High Intermediate
  • Level 5: Low Advanced
  • Level 6: Advanced